The Department of Export Agriculture (DEA) is a main government institution which comes under the purview of Ministry of Minor Export Crops Promotion, is responsible for the Research and Development by means of productivity, production and quality improvements of a group of perennial, Export Agricultural crops (EAC) namely Cinnamon, Pepper, Cardamom, Clove, Nutmeg, Coffee, Cocoa, Vanilla, Betel, Citronella, Lemon grass, Arecanut and traditionally grown in Sri Lanka

Major Functions

• Organize and promote cultivation and processing of EAC
• Provide inputs and services
• Undertake and conduct Agronomic, Post harvest, Economic and Market Research
• Organize production and provide quality plants and planning material
• Administer assistance schemes
• Train personnel involved in EAC
• Conduct crop protection activities
• Promote the usage of fertilizer
• Assist in organizing and arranging marketing
• Disseminate information
• Conduct demonstrations and trials
• Experiment with new crops having export potential
• Exercise authority under the act mentioned above.